Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #251  
Old 20th May 2013, 09:08 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

GSDX style Software DX9
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 20th May 2013, 05:49 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
GSDX style Software DX9
* How standardized is the API?
* Where can I find open information encouraging its usage?
* Is it specific to a project implementation called GSDX, or it interacts flexibly?
* How portable is it to encompass the barebones needs of N64 rendering?
* Does it throw in too many unneeded dependency functions specific to DirectX 9 that are unused by pixel-accurate N64 rendering?
* What advantages does it have over direct graphics device interface rendering on the user's software?

Those are questions I should be asking myself when finalizing a choice of target API.
Until then the most important thing is the RDP, even if it means using something so old that it will work on Windows 95, Win16 and older (GDI system), because at least I am able to optimize for speed on computers that don't even have a video card or any hardware acceleration capabilities to encourage software accuracy testing.

It must get a port to OpenGL or something later on though.
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 20th May 2013, 05:56 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Code:
SDL_VIDEODRIVER

    Selectes the video driver for SDL to use. Possible values, in the order
they are tried if this variable is not set:

    x11	

    dga	

    (the XFree86 DGA2)
    nanox	

    (Linux)
    fbcon	

    (Linux)
    directfb	

    (Linux)
    ps2gs	

    (Playstation 2)
    ggi	

    vgl	

    (BSD)
    svgalib	

    (Linux)
    aalib	

    directx	

    (Win32)
    windib	

    (Win32)
    bwindow	

    (BeOS)
    toolbox	

    (MacOS Classic)
    DSp	

    (MacOS Classic)
    Quartz	

    (Mac OS X)
    CGX	

    (Amiga)
    photon	

    (QNX)
    epoc	

    (Epoc)
    dummy
It is also possible to, less directly, use this API through the SDL subsystem interface.

A finalized version must not use SDL, as it is faster to have direct driver access to the hardware abstraction instead of going through a secondary API interposed in-between, but there is such a thing as "premature optimization" in programming. Sometimes the general wisdom of things involves sacrifice.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 21st May 2013, 08:07 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

MAME RDP is amazing.





many texture errors for RR64 though, why you always convert c module to header files?
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 21st May 2013, 08:26 AM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 381
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
It must get a port to OpenGL or something later on though.
OGL is dead easy, you also get free image scaling too if people wanna play thier software rendered stuff all blown up in size instead of stuck in a 320x240 box.
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 21st May 2013, 08:35 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

One bug about LLE RSP, but I am not very sure.

When I use your rsp_mle or rsp_lle on mupen64 5.1, Killer Instinct Gold stuck at booting. But if I use Hacktaux's rsp, then Killer Instinct Gold ran just fine without video or game slow down.

But no error dialog when using your RSP, so I am sure what the problem is.



But I cannot get Killer Instinct Gold boot on project64 1.7 ~ 2.x , no matter which RSP to use.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit

Last edited by shunyuan; 21st May 2013 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 21st May 2013, 02:15 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haxatax View Post
OGL is dead easy, you also get free image scaling too if people wanna play thier software rendered stuff all blown up in size instead of stuck in a 320x240 box.
Good to know.
I hear it's easier than DirectX also.

And according to the information you sent me with the Verilog simulator implementation and all that, one of the architecture revisions of OpenGL was used for the N64 rendering system, so it would be more accurate in some ways to render 3-D using that than just software all day.


I do not have an option to change the resolution currently in my plugin because it just constantly refreshes the video screen with the currently updated N64 native resolution (besides, SDL video does not stretch the native screen to fit the window...), to make the gfx more accurate in the software renderer.
But in the OpenGL version I will probably mix in some HLE somewhere and allow forcing certain window resolutions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
MAME RDP is amazing.

many texture errors for RR64 though, why you always convert c module to header files?
Haha, well I see you got it working. Glad it seems good to you, though I made only partial progress backporting the updated MESS RDP core last night.
It was enough to fix tiling/blending issues with F3DLX, Mario Kart 64 races, but not most things.


Regarding your question.
Actually all of the source files were in C++.
I just converted them in C so that MinGW would stop statically/dynamically (It had to be one or the other it seems...) linking the -fuse-linker-plugin dll, which almost nobody on this forum besides me would happen to have installed on their system.

There was a big size decrease of the DLL when I rewrote it as a single main C source file, including .h header files, probably because the compiler now handles inter-module optimizations instead of the linker.
I just never liked making people have to link multiple objects against each other.
I was able to write the most convenient build script by having only one source file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
One bug about LLE RSP, but I am not very sure.

When I use your rsp_mle or rsp_lle on mupen64 5.1, Killer Instinct Gold stuck at booting. But if I use Hacktaux's rsp, then Killer Instinct Gold ran just fine without video or game slow down.

But no error dialog when using your RSP, so I am sure what the problem is.
How strange...I am unable to reproduce this on Mupen64 0.5.1.





Did you try setting the CPU method to "Interpreter" in the main emulator options for mupen?
Did you try zilmar's RSP 1.6 interpreter for pj 1.6, or the z64 RSP

Maybe a thing with ROM versions?
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 21st May 2013, 02:52 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
How strange...I am unable to reproduce this on Mupen64 0.5.1.





Did you try setting the CPU method to "Interpreter" in the main emulator options for mupen?
Did you try zilmar's RSP 1.6 interpreter for pj 1.6, or the z64 RSP

Maybe a thing with ROM versions?
It is the rom version caused the problem, I have tested with Killer Instinct 1.0 and 1.1, but not 1.2.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 21st May 2013, 06:14 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Another bug I found with you rsp_mle, pilotwin64 will crash, and game show the debug info as picture below:



But if I use Zimlar's RSP 1.7.0.9, then the game can continue without problem.

save file:
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 21st May 2013, 08:02 PM
Zera Zera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 44
Default

Yeah, that's pretty much the crash I was talking about in your audio plugin thread. So it was a RSP issue?

I am using rsp_mle as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.