Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 25th May 2013, 12:30 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
so does that mean 120Hz has less input lag? 60Hz always seems fine to me though
you can barely feel input lag at 16.6ms (60hz), alas the way vsynching a 60fps frame rate to a 60hz monitor works is always going to be 1 frame behind (and latency is more like 22ms) (but capping the fps just under v-frequency does help somehow)

120hz monitors swap in new frames at 8.3ms intervals and input lag is almost never perceived by anyone.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 3rd June 2013, 11:28 AM
Jenraux Jenraux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

You don't really want to lower the refresh rate below 60hz, as it will appear as though the game is not running at 60FPS, and you'll also get tearing unless you turn V-sync on. It can also create a really blurry image that's hard on the eyes, depending on your display.

The difference between 60hz and 120hz isn't really noticeable, eventually we'll all be using 120hz just through progression of technology, but until they're commonplace, there isn't really any point in upgrading, especially for PJ64, when the emulator doesn't even show more than 60FPS, which means a 120hz monitor will just show the same frame twice.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16th June 2013, 09:45 AM
p_025 p_025 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 49
Default

30Hz is really quite painful to play on. You're better off waiting for a display standard that can support the resolution at 60+Hz.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4k2k, redundant, resolution, uhd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.