#1  
Old 23rd August 2010, 07:04 PM
DarknDreary DarknDreary is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Unhappy Error Message

I have no idea what this means or how to fix it:

"Direct3D failed to initialze Error Code:8876088C D3DERR INVALID CALL"
have Directx 9 and my video card is Intel r 82810 graphics controller. I know that it's 3D compatible and yet it isn't loading.

My computer has Windows XP Professional.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd August 2010, 07:52 PM
Experiment #150's Avatar
Experiment #150 Experiment #150 is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Right_nex_door_lawl_Ihascake
Posts: 1,456
Default

So what if it has XP professional? We need other stuff, such as what video card you are using.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by squall_leonhart View Post
seriously. do it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd August 2010, 11:30 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarknDreary View Post
and my video card is Intel r 82810 graphics controller
Here is a Windows XP update for the drivers for the Intel 82810. Maybe it will help with the Direct3D detection.

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...=4665&lang=eng
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th August 2010, 12:01 AM
DarknDreary DarknDreary is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default Confirm

When I start to install I get this message:
System contains newer graphics driver 6.13.1.3198 confirm overwrite and install older driver 6.13.01.3196?

Should I go ahead and install it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th August 2010, 12:06 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

You know, honestly the version I linked was the latest version I could find.

I personally wouldn't, but if I were you, then I'm not sure. Cause maybe you having a newer version (or even somehow a bad one) might be the cause of the D3D initialization error you got, but I can't know that.

So, I guess if you downgrade to try and fix the error, you won't really have anything to lose, whether it fixes the error message or not.

Would be nice if you knew a simple way to backup your current driver version.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th August 2010, 12:10 AM
DarknDreary DarknDreary is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I could always rollback to the previous more up-to-date driver if this doesn't work..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th August 2010, 12:13 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

If there is a way for you to do that then this is good. Backups are always good.

Even if this doesn't get rid of the error, there are other Direct3D plug-ins and some OpenGL plug-ins that work really well.

Only other thing is that Intel graphics chips aren't as supported for 3-D game emulation as NVIDIA GeForce or ATI Radeon, so possibly it might be your graphics hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th August 2010, 12:18 AM
DarknDreary DarknDreary is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

The computer is old as dirt so, that's probably what's wrong. It's an old Gateway meant for Windows 98 so..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th August 2010, 12:29 AM
DarknDreary DarknDreary is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

What plugins would you recommend fo an older computer?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th August 2010, 12:37 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I wrote a list of good plug-ins here.
http://forum.pj64-emu.com/showthread.php?t=1844

There are some plug-ins that I didn't mention in that thread, but they in general just make the games look like glitched crap (if they even manage to work) and just remind you to get new video hardware / newer computer.

Direct64 probably won't work. You have DirectX 9 as is required, but I've seen it fail to initialize depth stuff on old cards regardless.
glN64 and RiceVideo6_1_0 stable will probably work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
emulator, error code

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.