Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th April 2012, 02:25 PM
nationalhonorroll nationalhonorroll is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default Ocarina Of Time Graphics Issue

so i just decently started playing ocarina of time on project 64 again and noticed a minor issue. textures started disappearing when i get too close to them, for example, paths in hyrule field and kokiri forest and the stone path in the graveyard. as i got further into the game, i noticed that the same thing happens with circular holes in the ground that link can jump into (they are invisible) and soft patches of earth that link can plant seeds in (invisible). in my opinion, this makes the games unplayable and i would very much like to solve this issue. addtionally, i noticed that a few other forum users have have had the same problem although what worked for them has not worked for me.

when i try to use any of the direct64 or glide64 plugins, it seems that they get rejected and are not recognized when i go to options and settings on project 64.

i'm using project 64 1.6, my ocarina of time rom is (E) (M3) (V1.0), and a relatively new computer (purchased in august of 2011)

my video card is Intel(R) HD Graphics Family

i'd be happy to post any other necessary information about my system. thanks.

(this is a re-post from open discussion...my mistake)
  #2  
Old 9th April 2012, 03:19 PM
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nowhere near you.
Posts: 5,075
Default

Not sure if it'll make a difference, by try using a rom that has a [!] in it.
__________________
  #3  
Old 9th April 2012, 03:33 PM
nationalhonorroll nationalhonorroll is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default

so it turns out that while project 64 displays the rom name as ocarina of time (E) (M3) (V1.0) the file actually downloads as and is displayed in its folder as ocarina of time (E) (V1.0) (!). so that solution is out, thanks anyway. any other ideas?
  #4  
Old 9th April 2012, 05:28 PM
Witten's Avatar
Witten Witten is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Default

Usually this is caused by a video card not getting enough memory to store the textures. How much memory is dedicated to your integrated Intel HD Graphics card? Are you using a texture pack? Does this happen on 1964 too with Rice's video? Have you looked for new drivers for your video card?
__________________
PJ64 Developer and Tester

OS: Windows 7 Business SP1 x86 (Build #7601)
CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q8300 @2.50 GHz
Memory: 4GB DDR2 PC2-6400
Video: AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB GDDR5

Last edited by Witten; 9th April 2012 at 05:33 PM.
  #5  
Old 9th April 2012, 05:33 PM
nationalhonorroll nationalhonorroll is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default

the approx. total memory of my video card is 1696 mb. i'm not using any texture pack that i'm aware of, meaning that I didn't download anything additional to what came with project 64 and the rom itself. I haven't tried 1964 or rice's video, should I?
  #6  
Old 9th April 2012, 05:39 PM
Witten's Avatar
Witten Witten is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Default

1.6GB would be the availlable amount of RAM for your OS, so I am guessing the system is giving 300+MB for video which should be sufficient. Glide64 is an OpenGL-based wrapper for 3DFX, maybe some OpenGL functions are not supported with the current drivers so I would check if a driver update is availlable and also give the latest version of 1964 a go.
__________________
PJ64 Developer and Tester

OS: Windows 7 Business SP1 x86 (Build #7601)
CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q8300 @2.50 GHz
Memory: 4GB DDR2 PC2-6400
Video: AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB GDDR5

Last edited by Witten; 9th April 2012 at 05:43 PM.
  #7  
Old 9th April 2012, 06:56 PM
nationalhonorroll nationalhonorroll is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default

i updated my driver and nothing changed. tried 1964 as well and not only does the video and audio skip but i don't know how to access my save files. any ideas about that?
  #8  
Old 9th April 2012, 08:34 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,094
Default

Intel HD tends to do stuff like this.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #9  
Old 9th April 2012, 09:07 PM
nationalhonorroll nationalhonorroll is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11
Default

I'm at a loss, after trying numerous combinations of settings, many different plugins, and a different emulator nothing has worked. i would really like to play this game as it looked on an n64. any ideas?
  #10  
Old 9th April 2012, 11:44 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,094
Default

Buy a real GPU
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.