Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v1.6

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th May 2012, 08:06 PM
DevinXXL DevinXXL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default Some "Bad Rom" Problems After editing Rom

Hello! Today I tried playing F-Zero X (u) online with Project64k (afaik Not yours but I think you're able to help me anyway ) but the u Version is just crashing the Emulator.
Then I used a version with ms own track and it worked.
The problem is that it's recognized as Bad Rom and I'm Not able to Host a Server. Is there a way to make pj64 recognize ist as Good Rom or something like that? If so, how does it work? Sorry, I'm New to this

Thanks!
  #2  
Old 10th May 2012, 11:28 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,094
Default

Get a good ROM? >.>
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #3  
Old 11th May 2012, 04:56 AM
DevinXXL DevinXXL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Not possible befcause it's just crashing and I want to play my track online, isn't it possible to edit a file and then it is useable?
  #4  
Old 11th May 2012, 12:13 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,094
Default

Just get a new ROM >.> how hard can it be?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
  #5  
Old 11th May 2012, 03:07 PM
DevinXXL DevinXXL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Looks like if you don't understand me. The (U) Roms don't work! ALL of them are just crashing for no reason. I just want to use a custom Track online because these are (U) Roms but they work anyway. The only problem is that they're Bad Roms and Not useable. I read somewhere that is possible if I edit a file, but I don't know how it works Please don't just Tell me to use a Good Rom, please help me!

Thanks again
  #6  
Old 11th May 2012, 08:20 PM
Witten's Avatar
Witten Witten is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
Default

To add a ROM to the rdb you need to click with the right mouse button on the "Bad rom" in the rombrowser and select "Rom information". Check if the value is different from "None". If this is the case the right click the rom again and select "Edit game settings" and click OK. Now open project64.rdb with your favourite text editor and scroll down to the last entry. Edit that entry by adding "Good Name=<%GAMENAME%>", for example "Good Name= F-Zero X (U) Custom". Now when you refresh the rom list it should have a proper name. You should send your rdb or the entry info to the other players if you want them to be able to connect to your session.

I hope this helps.
__________________
PJ64 Developer and Tester

OS: Windows 7 Business SP1 x86 (Build #7601)
CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q8300 @2.50 GHz
Memory: 4GB DDR2 PC2-6400
Video: AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB GDDR5
  #7  
Old 11th May 2012, 10:23 PM
DevinXXL DevinXXL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

It took a bit, but i think it works now! Exactly what I was looking for!
Thanks a lot!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.