Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st September 2015, 10:52 PM
kevin42 kevin42 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 8
Default Force PJ64 to use Nvidia instead of Intel GPU

Hi. I have a laptop with "Nvidia Optimus Technology" that makes most programs run on the integrated Intel GPU by default to save power. Normally I can override it by right clicking the app and saying run with graphics processor, or by changing the settings in the Nvidia control panel. These workarounds work for almost every program, even OpenGL programs that I wrote and compiled myself, but NOT for PJ64.

I've tried right-click->"run with graphics processor", I've tried changing the global settings in the Nvidia control panel to always use the Nvidia GPU, I've tried creating a program profile for PJ64 in the Nvidia control panel and setting it to the Nvidia GPU, but the profile always disappears after I close and reopen the control panel. I even tried disabling the Intel GPU in the device manager, but that just makes everything switch to the Windows basic graphics driver (the Nvidia GPU has to go through the Intel GPU to work).

I know it's using the Intel GPU because it says so in the graphics plugin configuration options, and I've profiled my GPU usage to make sure. Surprisingly, the performance of the Intel GPU is not bad at all, but it's frustrating to pay for an expensive graphics card and then not be able to use it.

Does anyone know of any other workarounds? At this point I'm thinking the issue is more on the PJ64 end of things.

Oh, I also tried out Mupen64, same issue. What is it with these N64 emulators.

Oh, I guess this belongs in the issues forum. Maybe a mod can move it?

Last edited by kevin42; 21st September 2015 at 10:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd September 2015, 08:03 AM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

The graphics plugin settings are "lying" they don't know of a separate card even if it is in use (there's no way for it to know that it runs via nvidia, actual display still happens over intel that's why it is shown). Monitoring GPU usage may also not really help, as it isn't going to be that big most of the time anyway. Best thing you could try is trying to use GLideN64 you will notice a difference if it runs on intel compared to Nvidia
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd September 2015, 10:50 AM
DaMan69 DaMan69 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 77
Default

Here's Glide64 with
Code:
extern "C"
   {_declspec(dllexport) DWORD NvOptimusEnablement=0x00000001;
    __declspec(dllexport) int AmdPowerXpressRequestHighPerformance=1;}
let me know if it works.

Last edited by DaMan69; 23rd September 2015 at 02:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd September 2015, 01:20 AM
kevin42 kevin42 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 8
Default

Well I actually just now managed to get glide64 to use the Nvidia GPU using the program NvidiaInspector, but when I load the Jabo3D plugin it switches over to Intel. The change in the profiler is immediate and pronounced- Nvidia usage drops to 0 and Intel GPU usage spikes. The Rice and Direct 64 plugins work fine, also. But I prefer Jabo3D because of the widescreen hack.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd September 2015, 06:46 AM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

Jabo's is using direct3d8 I don't think optimus has support for this API at all
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th September 2015, 05:18 AM
kevin42 kevin42 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 8
Default

Seems you're right. Apparently Nvidia dropped all support for DX8 on Optimus systems. That's a shame.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd February 2017, 07:27 AM
SoAmusing777 SoAmusing777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Try finding a DX8 to DX9 modifier. I've seen one used in a GTA Vice City mod.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.