#101  
Old 30th August 2015, 07:19 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
Ermmm... Widescreen anyone? Here is one for Mario Kart 64 for all modes:

Cheat0=D00DC533 0000,81150148 3FDF,D00DC533 0001,81150148 4060,D00DC533 0003,81150148 3FDF,D00DC533 0004,81150148 3FDF

I tested your no lagfix and CF=1 with my compiled Glide64 plugin and Mario Kart 64 runs beautifully smooth. I haven't experience the 25 FPS that theboy181 is mentioning...

For even a better experience, has anyone tried running this game with the Glide64 variable clip_zmax = 0? It allows to disable the far plane culling which for this particular game works wonders...Just run a test lap on Rainbow Road...
Theboy is experiencing a drop in fps when the lag fix cheat is applied with any cf greater than one. .

This is to be expected with the game as the real he would be as brutal with DK jungle.


Are you able to use GLideN64 plug? Yes it's still a resource hog but when you use the 30fps hack that counters the multiplayer developer hacks. It looks and plays like you would expect.

My question is what does lag fix mean?
On cf =2 and lag fix this doesn't seem to fix the slow downs this game will endure.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 30th August 2015, 07:23 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 681
Default

Some games must react differently for whatever reason,even if the fix kinda works.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 30th August 2015, 03:00 PM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

I assume the lagfix disables the default frameskip function that every game has as an option by default, some games as retroben stated may use different methods to deal when they need to drop frames (like Mario Kart 64 pacing modifier based on number of players and course complexity)...

But you are right, your lagfix codes make at least totally skip or mitigates any loading the game has...

I don't use GlideN64 for the moment, because as you pointed is a little resource intensive, so I get random pauses here and there every once in a while ( I guess is my video card choking or something, whereas on Glide64Final, for the games I play I don't see any kind of hiccups)...And I almost forgot, GlideN64 doesn't have forced bilinear filtering, which makes any 2D sprites pixelated...

retroben, both Castlevanias are also in need of a Lagfix code, both have long loading pauses and heavy slowdown on some areas...

Last edited by Marcelo_20xx; 30th August 2015 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 30th August 2015, 05:39 PM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
I assume the lagfix disables the default frameskip function that every game has as an option by default, some games as retroben stated may use different methods to deal when they need to drop frames (like Mario Kart 64 pacing modifier based on number of players and course complexity)...

But you are right, your lagfix codes make at least totally skip or mitigates any loading the game has...

I don't use GlideN64 for the moment, because as you pointed is a little resource intensive, so I get random pauses here and there every once in a while ( I guess is my video card choking or something, whereas on Glide64Final, for the games I play I don't see any kind of hiccups)...And I almost forgot, GlideN64 doesn't have forced bilinear filtering, which makes any 2D sprites pixelated...

retroben, both Castlevanias are also in need of a Lagfix code, both have long loading pauses and heavy slowdown on some areas...

So I understand. Does the mario kart lag fix makes the loading portions of the game load quicker? If that's the case when I turned CF=6 there were long delays between tracks still. Would the lag fix just shorten the amount of time it takes?
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814

Last edited by theboy181; 30th August 2015 at 05:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 30th August 2015, 05:44 PM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 427
Default

I forgot to ask, but does your widescreen hack you posted work for all player modes?
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 30th August 2015, 08:23 PM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

Yep, Its an improvement over the first Widescreen code. This automatically check the "Player Mode" and modifies the RDRAM accordingly...

The lagfix coupled with 2.X's VI set to 2200 makes Mario Kart 64 almost skip any loading so often the audio must stop abruptly to keep with the gameplay between loading screens on capable hardware...

Last edited by Marcelo_20xx; 30th August 2015 at 08:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 30th August 2015, 09:54 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 681
Default

Castlevania (U) (V1.0)

Lag Fix
800A10C2 000D
Too bad this game requires a setting (TLB Unmapping) that makes it chug immensely on older HW,when without the setting it guarantees a random crash.

Castlevania - Legacy of Darkness

Lag Fix
800BA702 000D
It was an 020C instead,but still the same thing in nearly the same area.

Does Castlevania 1.2 not need that setting,or is it even worse?

Edit: It (1.0) gave me a crash message after I closed PJ64 when I stopped testing with TLB Unmapping disabled.

Last edited by retroben; 30th August 2015 at 10:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 30th August 2015, 10:12 PM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

Both Castlevanias gave me a random crash with TLB unmapping unchecked . They ran a little better on PJ1.6. Is there a reason you prefer 2.2 over 1.6 for this particular games? because I had modified a 1.6 core to set the VIs to 2200...
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 30th August 2015, 10:48 PM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 681
Default

I am using 1.7.0.50b23 as usual.
The 1.6 version lacks debugging tools like memory viewer and memory search.
Savestates yield a virtual error crash for me on the 2.2 version.

I have a sore throat/cold right now,so don't expect me to respond nearly as fast or to get quick results.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 30th August 2015, 11:15 PM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 165
Default

Sorry to hear that, take care...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.