#1  
Old 4th May 2018, 07:08 PM
FumblesWolf FumblesWolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Default Add 30 FPS Frame-Limiter

Can we add a 30 FPS Frame-Limiter? Simple click function right under the "Remove Frame-Limiter" option.

1) The games were designed to run at 30 FPS/anything higher breaks some games./It's more authentic.

2) For those of us running potatoes that like consistency, not sudden drops from 60 to 20 frames per second.

3) Games already tend to run on the emulator natively at 60 FPS/there is already an option to remove the Frame Limit.

4) Simple user-friendly customization.

Side-note, I use Project 64 because as clusterf*cky as the N64 scene is, it's the most no fuss no muss thing available atm.

I'm not a diehard for replication at the cost of performance and gameplay, I just don't want the games to look feel or sound...off./Have to be a effing programmer just to fire up an old game/deal with bugs and drives and stuff/I want the same features the original console offered or better.

IE, start up and go about the same-ish as the console or better for us dumb-dumbs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th May 2018, 12:19 AM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FumblesWolf View Post
1) The games were designed to run at 30 FPS/anything higher breaks some games./It's more authentic.
If a game is running faster than it should, then frame limit is enabled, there is no need to set it to a specific FPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by FumblesWolf View Post

2) For those of us running potatoes that like consistency, not sudden drops from 60 to 20 frames per second.
Shouldn't be any reason for frame drops even on potatoes. Also setting the FPS any lower than the game is supposed to run is going to make it play in slow-mo the whole time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FumblesWolf View Post
3) Games already tend to run on the emulator natively at 60 FPS/there is already an option to remove the Frame Limit.
They don't, they run at 60 VPS, FPS varies from game to game.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th May 2018, 11:13 PM
FumblesWolf FumblesWolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Default

So...

When I use the FPS counter option in one of the default video plugins and it says 60 FPS, then suddenly drops to below 30 FPS...

...the game isn't actually running at 60 FPS/it's my problem if the game drops?

Side-note, games run way too fast with the Frame Limiter turned off.

Also, I understand that 30 FPS (or VPS??? whatever) is slower. I'd rather have consistent "slower" (around 30 FPS most of the time) performance than my game go from 60 to below 30 FPS. It's extremely distracting and kinda kills gameplay for me. Besides, these are N64 games, not modern games. I understand 30 FPS isn't the standard anymore, but it was back then for many games.

(You said "VPS"...I'm referring to what the FPS counter tells me.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th May 2018, 11:15 PM
FumblesWolf FumblesWolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Additional sidenote, the difference between 30 FPS and 60 FPS for me is kinda meh. As long as it doesn't drop too far below 30, I don't care.

Lemme put it this way...what's more noticeable? 60 down to 20 or 30 down to 20?

Obviously, 60 down to 20.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th May 2018, 01:02 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FumblesWolf View Post

Side-note, games run way too fast with the Frame Limiter turned off.
That's what it's supposed to do. Also, if you force a 60 FPS game to run at 30 FPS it will run at half speed (can't say that's very enjoyable).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th May 2018, 12:56 AM
FumblesWolf FumblesWolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Default

K, to reply to your reply, I'd have to repeat what I said already, which is that I'd rather play some games at 30 fps because of more consistent gameplay etc...

but I'm gonna just assume you said "yeah, no, that feature is never gonna happen" and give up on this thread.

It would be an optional feature...in your opinion, it wouldn't be "enjoyable"...just like to some people, playing on a mouse and keyboard is not "enjoyable"...but it's there as an option.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th May 2018, 01:12 AM
=X= Smasherx74 =X= =X= Smasherx74 =X= is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FumblesWolf View Post
K, to reply to your reply, I'd have to repeat what I said already, which is that I'd rather play some games at 30 fps because of more consistent gameplay etc...

but I'm gonna just assume you said "yeah, no, that feature is never gonna happen" and give up on this thread.

It would be an optional feature...in your opinion, it wouldn't be "enjoyable"...just like to some people, playing on a mouse and keyboard is not "enjoyable"...but it's there as an option.
Most N64 games are running a 20-30 fps, some games like Smash and F Zero run at 60fps.



Quote:
Originally Posted by FumblesWolf View Post
Additional sidenote, the difference between 30 FPS and 60 FPS for me is kinda meh. As long as it doesn't drop too far below 30, I don't care.

Lemme put it this way...what's more noticeable? 60 down to 20 or 30 down to 20?

Obviously, 60 down to 20.

The difference between 30 fps and 60 fps is huge. You have 30 extra frames per second to make inputs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by FumblesWolf View Post
So...

When I use the FPS counter option in one of the default video plugins and it says 60 FPS, then suddenly drops to below 30 FPS...

...the game isn't actually running at 60 FPS/it's my problem if the game drops?

Side-note, games run way too fast with the Frame Limiter turned off.

Also, I understand that 30 FPS (or VPS??? whatever) is slower. I'd rather have consistent "slower" (around 30 FPS most of the time) performance than my game go from 60 to below 30 FPS. It's extremely distracting and kinda kills gameplay for me. Besides, these are N64 games, not modern games. I understand 30 FPS isn't the standard anymore, but it was back then for many games.

(You said "VPS"...I'm referring to what the FPS counter tells me.)
What game are you talking about and what plugin are you using.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th May 2018, 07:14 AM
retroben's Avatar
retroben retroben is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 681
Default

I think the more sensible feature name would be to add a "frame skipper" to the emulator itself.
Kind of like how Dolphin Emulator has it,but I don't think it has a frame skip option anymore.

Or comparable to older system emulators where frame skip settings are more common.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
30 fps, frame-limiter, potatoes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.