#1  
Old 22nd October 2018, 05:03 AM
jeckaljoker jeckaljoker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Default Gauntlet Legends emulation issue

Let me start off by saying yes, it's that ol Gauntlet chestnut, however I'm posting because the most recent thread I saw was for PJ64 1.7

So first. My specs;

Project 64 2.3.0.210
Graphic plugin: Jabo's Direct3D8 1.7.0.57-ver5
PC Graphics: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3670
Windows 7 OS, model: Dell Studio XPS 1640

Okay so let me start by saying, for me and my set up, Jabo's works better than Glide, at least for Gauntlet. At first, certain textures just wouldn't load. The game runs fine, but the walls and a few other textures wouldn't load. So after about 20-30 minutes of fiddling I made a few interesting discoveries, as follows;

1) when trying Glide rather than Jabo, the missing textures would load, but the game itself would freeze every time i hit Start Game, so immediately Glide is not usable for this.

2) when I go to graphics configuration, and turn on "Software Rendering" under Advanced, the missing textures load, but the game is unplayable due to god-awful lag and horrible graphics

So after a little more tweaking and trying every possible option under graphics configuration, I made progress;

When i turn "force legacy pixel pipeline" on under Advanced, the textures loaded for a few seconds during the opening scene, and when I started the game, the textures were missing again. However, and I feel this is a key somehow, the missing textures show up PERFECTLY while the game is paused (start button paused), however when I unpause they go away and it's just blackness where they are again. When I throw an axe, they flash momentarily, but the colors are wrong.

As far as what DOES load, in the main chamber; my character, the summoner, the compass, the floor, the CLOSED doors in the main chamber, and the portals that are open, and the runes of one's that aren't.
In a level; myself, enemies, enemy spawners, barrels, keys, gates, items inside barrels.
Do it seems that anything that has a moving part/purpose, loads.

When I get messages/tips/hints like "use keys to unlock doors" the textures show up for a split second AFTER the message goes away.

ALSO I just made another discovery! (I'm still messing with it as i write this); I used a key to open a chest just now, and from the time the chest opened, to the time I picked up the gold (I walked around for a few seconds testing to see if it was going to be brief) the texture showed up perfectly, right until my character came into contact with the opened chest.

This is leading me to believe this can easily be fixed, since it seems to WANT to show the missing textures any time there's an interaction, but I've tried messing with ALL the settings and I can't seem to figure it out. Ive tried to be as detailed as possible in explaining, in the hopes we've made enough progress to get this awesome classic working once and for all! Thank you to those reading and trying to help!

Last edited by jeckaljoker; 22nd October 2018 at 05:06 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2018, 05:13 AM
jeckaljoker jeckaljoker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Okay so some more interesting info!

I'm not sure if it's because I left it paused while I typed, or if it's just from the emulator having run for a few minutes, but now the missing textures are showing up for the most part, as I'm walking around the waterfall area in the very beginning of the first level of the first realm. They're showing up perfectly, however anytime my character attacks (even with melee) or one of the fire fountains sprays up, the colors go wrong again and stay that way. BUT, when I walk over by the waterfall, the colors fix themselves. Almost as if the waterfall is re-coloring things the correct way..

Now I'm standing with both the waterfall and fire trap within the screen/view, and the colors go wrong when the fire sprays up, but IMMEDIATELY fix themselves as soon as the fire goes back down. And then the moment I went a little right of the waterfall, the textures completely went missing again. Also, when I picked up the fire amulet and it became active, this weird grey swirly frame started flashing every few seconds, until I deactivated the amulet.

I am so confused. It's almost like one particular layer is throwing the graphics off, and then this other particular layer is correcting them.

Last edited by jeckaljoker; 22nd October 2018 at 05:16 AM. Reason: Spelling, additional findings
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2018, 01:22 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,653
Default

Have you tried GlideN64?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2018, 06:00 PM
jeckaljoker jeckaljoker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeDude2 View Post
Have you tried GlideN64?
My version of PJ64 came with two default plugins for graphics;

Jabo's Direct3D8 1.7.0.57-ver5
And
Glide64 for PJ64: 2.1.0.210

If that's different than GlideN64 then no I haven't, but the glide I mentioned above (the included one) is the one that I said freezes the game in my first post.

If GlideN64 is different then I'll definitely try it out if you can recommend a link or how to do it. I've always just used the default plugin cause it runs any other game (so far) just fine
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd October 2018, 07:29 PM
ExtremeDude2's Avatar
ExtremeDude2 ExtremeDude2 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,653
Default

It is:

https://github.com/gonetz/GLideN64/releases
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsx! View Post
are you american or something
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2.x, gauntlet legends, graphics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.