Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th October 2010, 02:00 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 194
Exclamation I'm hoping I'm not beating a dead horse.

Quote:
Hello Zilmar, Mdkcheats advised me to make a post a message for you and anyone who interested in what I have found. Please forgive my lack of coding knowledge as I have triad coding before and found it almost masochistic, but all coders like yourself have my respect as such anyway I believe PJ64 as it is, is very close to competition, in my opinion fixing the following issues will result in PJ64 getting to the point were we no one will have to do anything more to it, because it will be finished.

Unique game plugin assignment or front end config
It’s no secret that games work better with different plugins, the two most commonly used are Jabo’s D3D and Glide64. An example of this is GoldenEye seems to work better with Jabo but Perfect Dark works better with glide64. 1964 might not have as good core as PJ nor as good sound plugin but it does have the feature to assign plugins to games; this is a vital feature especially for HD textures. If thease setting could be saved to a config file that remembers what games are set to use what plugin like a front end system, I personally would set it up that file and make that file available to any one who wants it.


‘Vertical interrupts’ and ‘frames per second’ optimization
A lot of people get confused about this so I’ll explain it. ‘Vertical interrupts’ is the emulatored NTSC or PAL picture signal and should be a consistent 60 or 50 Vi’s a second depending on whether you’re using PAL or NTSC. Now I’ll talk about ‘frames per second’ this is the actual game refresh rate and for optimum performance shouldn’t go below 30 but 60 is the best.

PJ64 has trouble (especially on multi core systems) optimizing this. A good example of how this all works is with the Perfect Dark glitch that causes that game to freeze usually when advancing from one level to another. I found a way to stop this from happening. If you change the EEPROM so the game can’t save to the cartridge and use the controller memory card instead, the game won’t freeze, however it will throttle the FPS’ but not the VI’s causing the game to not play as nicely however another interesting point is, that if you leave it and say, play on the Skeda ruins level and turn on IR scanner the VI’s will get throttled but the FPS won’t and this causes stuttering in the game. If PJ64 could force and sync both VI’s and FPS at 60 for NTCS and 50 for PAL, this would greatly improve performance on all game on all fronts.

I hope you find all this helpful, yours sincerely, Magmarock.


I was supposed to show this to Zilmar but it looks like he's already seen it.

Last edited by magmarock64; 18th October 2010 at 10:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th October 2010, 03:12 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

wtf is this redundant bs.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2010, 08:02 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

lololololol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th October 2010, 09:50 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
wtf is this redundant bs.
Take a look at the last line of text. I'm considering removing this "redundant" text for that very reason. I'm just see that all the sugegions I had have been used before I got a chance to post them.

weird.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th October 2010, 01:03 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

Well they say, "Two great minds think alike," but, then again, "To be great is to be misunderstood."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th October 2010, 01:48 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 194
Default

Well long story short. MDKcheats and I were talking on MSN and after lots and lots of testing I had a pretty good idea of small things that PJ64 needed in order to be a lot better. MDK asked me to write the sugestions down and post them. I wanted his opinion before posting them and he didn't speak to me again for a while, I guess he was busy.

Anyway here is what I wrote down it's way long over due but I am glade these issues have been addressed. I have already improved performance in Perfect Dark dramatically thanks to the changers made in this new emulator I just wish I could have spoken to Zilmar about it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th October 2010, 02:18 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,916
Default

8========================================>~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th October 2010, 03:00 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,256
Default

I wonder if there's anyone on this planet Mdkcheatz hasn't added on MSN. That 14-year-old plumber guy from England he called over to his place to fix the water supply in his home might not have had time to stick around for Brandon to get his MSN.

The save type factor of the Perfect Dark stability is still very interesting, though. Some of this information is beyond even Mdkcheatz's scope of comprehensibility. Well at least I'm happy to answer questions if you have them about what still stands of what you formerly wanted to present to Mr. zilmar.

Last edited by HatCat; 19th October 2010 at 03:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th October 2010, 08:22 AM
dsx_ dsx_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,105
Default

i like how you always call him Mr. zilmar xD
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th October 2010, 09:35 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 194
Default

WTF! is so funny
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.