Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 14th April 2013, 11:22 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

True...I forgot about that.
I stopped paying attention to changes in the Project64 core when it got down to things like that and the plugin handler.

I have no idea why but I almost never use per-ROM plugins on PJ64, almost always use them on mupen.
But I did just recently notice that per-game RSP is broken.

No matter. The whole configuration layout is undeniably flawed.
It should still be reproducible and interact just fine with the Debugger interface if the RSP plugin is only set globally.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 15th April 2013, 01:42 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,127
Default

My only fear is that once these regressions are pinpointed, how much coding will have to be done to fix them and properly re-test them. I can confirm that the RSP per-game configuration is definitely an issue.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 15th April 2013, 04:27 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

Did a fast test of speed comparisons for RSP emulators.

I tested a) motionless logo screen of Mario64,
b) standstill file select screen in mario

Both tests with Project64 2.0 VR4300 interpreter, HLE audio on the No Sound plugin, LLE gfx.

5. RSP 1.7.0.9 RSP interpreter by zilmar
a. 24-26 VI/s
b. 56-58 VI/s

4. ziggy's port of the MAME RSP, before angrylion's WDC/SR64 hack (slower)
a. 32-33 VI/s
b. 69-72 VI/s

3. My rsp_lle.dll in this thread (again, as with the others, HLE audio, LLE gfx)
a. 38-39 VI/s
b. 75-78 VI/s

2. RSP 1.7.0.9 RSP recompiler by Jabo/zilmar
a. 50-52 VI/s
b. 93-98 VI/s

1. RCP HLE (This time, both audio and gfx are HLE; RSP is not executed.)
a. 301-302 vi/s
b. 166-178 vi/s

So Jabo's RSP recompiler is between 10 to 20 VI/s faster than my RSP interpreter.
My RSP interpreter is 6 VI/s faster than the z64 RSP,
z64 RSP is 8 to 14 VI/s faster than RSP interpreter for pj64 2.0

So apparently I hardly even came close (40% increase basing off z64 speed) to coinciding the goal of besting the accuracy of the interpreter, with also getting it to be fast as the RSP recompiler plugin.
But, oh well.
I can still play Zelda64 at full speed (at some maps I need HLE audio on my lowly 1.90 GHz Athlon).
and squall says Rogue Squadron is playing at full speed on RSP that I release here XD, then again he has like almost 4 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 15th April 2013, 04:57 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

More speed tests but this time with HLE gfx, LLE audio (removes intervention of RDP threading)

3. RSP 1.7.0.9 interpreter for project64

a. 160-166 VI/s ? (difficult to measure, flies by and fluctuates too fast)
b. 62-81 VI/s

2. rsp_mle.dll in this thread (my SP interpreter compiled for LLE audio, HLE gfx)

a. 212-216 VI/s ?
b. 92-112 VI/s

1. RSP 1.7.0.9 recompiler for project64 by jabo/zilmar

a. 274-277 VI/s ?
b. 146-164 VI/s

A much more logarithmic (sort of metric) relationship there.
It is obvious that the interpreter could never catch up without SSSE3 replicas of direct parallel vector executions of what goes on in the RCP.

but a) that's unfair (recompiler could do that too, not just interpreter)
b) Most people today couldn't use an RSP emulator needing SSSE3 so what's the point
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 15th April 2013, 04:59 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,895
Default

nah, its mostly fullscreen during the menu's but missions with lots of updating geometry / effects brings it down to 30fps
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 15th April 2013, 05:07 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

Menus are easy. I guessed you meant the 3-D intro and such, that would have been impressive.

And star wars abi wasn't one of the ucodes Azimer reversed to work in HLE audio so no speed-up there; I don't recall seeing the ucode decompiled for the 1964 Audio Plugin (hle) either.

And there is no working hle gfx except if you use Lemmy's Direct3D off of nemu.

So, it isn't easy.
Maybe the RSP recompiler should be used for rs, but since that in its self is still far from full speed, I think I would rather investigate into why RDP emulation is so slow! Figure out why z64gl is barely faster than Jabo's LLE but still not fast enough.

Sort of shame though, z64gl is only faster with threaded=0 in the conf which atm on pj2 can't be applied without putting it under the Screenshots dir
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 15th April 2013, 01:38 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
My RSP plugin affects how the graphics look, *if* you are using LLE gfx.
HLE here means the control is external.
It is weird, but I can get correct Resident Evil 2 title screen and movie with Zilmar's RSP plugin 1.7 and 1.6 and Jabo Direct3D8 v1.7 for both Project64 1.6 and Project64 2.0.

Your RSP plugin must handle graphics HLE differently from Zilmar's plugin.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen-1.jpg (20.0 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg screen-2.jpg (19.4 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 15th April 2013, 02:43 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

There is no HLE gfx feature in the rsp dll.

You have to use rsp_hle.dll or rsp_mle.dll to get HLE gfx.
rsp_lle.dll or rsp.dll means you are not using HLE gfx, in which case you would need Jabo's software rasterizer to fix the pictures as would be needed on zilmar's RSP LLE (not HLE).

It helps if you keep only one, maybe 2 of the DLLs installed and stick only to them. There is not a whole lot to test about HLE RSP; they're just useful for speed.

Last edited by HatCat; 15th April 2013 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 15th April 2013, 02:45 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,239
Default

I guess I needed to clarify this before.

If you guys think those "Use HLE gfx?" , "Use HLE audio?" checkboxes in the Project64 settings make one bit of difference, think twice.
They only affect the Rsp #1.2 spec.

The only way is to install the correct DLL if you're attempting to test HLE.
What you set in the Project64 options besides other plugins makes no difference there.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 15th April 2013, 03:05 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
There is no HLE gfx feature in the rsp dll.

You have to use rsp_hle.dll or rsp_mle.dll to get HLE gfx.
rsp_lle.dll or rsp.dll means you are using LLE gfx, in which case you would need Jabo's software rasterizer to fix the pictures as would be needed on zilmar's RSP LLE (not HLE).

It helps if you keep only one, maybe 2 of the DLLs installed and stick only to them. There is not a whole lot to test about HLE RSP; they're just useful for speed.
I know exactly what you mean, but this is not the case.

I chage your RSP plugin a little bit, add a configuration dialog box, enable graphics HLE & audio HLE code, and controlled with configurations. So, I can swith gfx & audio LLE/HLE rendering calls without change RSP plugin.

All other games work just fine for graphics HLE through your plugin, such as Mario 64, F-zero 6x, RR64, StarFox 64, CBFD and Kirby 64.

The only exception for me is Resident Evil 64.

Sorry I didn't make it clear about the modification I have made for your RSP plugin.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen-1.jpg (19.2 KB, 18 views)
File Type: png screen-2.png (13.1 KB, 17 views)

Last edited by shunyuan; 15th April 2013 at 03:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.