#91  
Old 22nd September 2015, 05:50 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
I guess they started to call "portable" because the USB era allowed many programs and games to be just copied in it and then executed on a different machine without any installation procedure...
Well that still has nothing to do with portability.

That means the configuration of the compiled software is portable.

The only way for the software itself to be portable is if it is designed that way. No amount of flashing EXE files over USB makes any difference there; it just sounds like a dumb expression end users refer for their ability to not have to re-configure software which actually isn't portable either way.

Not sure why USB should have to do with it. I'm sure when floppy disk drives were still the major thing, the Windows registry didn't even exist back then! So why wasn't this artificial context of "portability" so correct back then as it is now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
As of know many apps developers refers to "portable" when such app doesn't require any installation (thus writes on the registry)...
I wouldn't say it's surprising that these developers would willingly use wrong terminology if it's in their better interest to capitalize in their position of power over the users.

It's easy for developers to claim their closed-source works as "portable" because they only release for a single operating system where the "registry" even exists as a thing at all.

By the definition of portability you cite, any software that is available on a non-Windows operating system is automatically considered portable, because there is no system registry. I however disagree with that too, because it's not hard to make Linux- or Macintosh- or etc.-only software that isn't portable to other systems, like Windows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo_20xx View Post
Emulation as I see it should be locally configured on a per game basis because there isn't any single config that will run optimally for everygame, I am happy that since PJ 2.X you can have it this way...
It's a good idea, but there are approaches at emulation that don't need any per-ROM configuration at all and maintain complete compatibility with everything. For things like speed hacks or stuff like mixed or hybrid HLE then it sounds like a good idea to have per-game config, but I think that's a matter of personal approach.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 22nd September 2015, 07:02 PM
Marcelo_20xx's Avatar
Marcelo_20xx Marcelo_20xx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 164
Default

I only started to read "portable app" on the USB era, since some developers advertised their apps by the slogan: "Put it on a USB and carry it with you everywhere so as not to interrupt your work" or something among those lines, I personally despise the damn Windows registry for many reasons, I was happy with the ini files back then, I don't needed the convoluted thing that the registry has become now. Because I like to have control of what an app do to my system...

Quote:
It's a good idea, but there are approaches at emulation that don't need any per-ROM configuration at all and maintain complete compatibility with everything. For things like speed hacks or stuff like mixed or hybrid HLE then it sounds like a good idea to have per-game config, but I think that's a matter of personal approach.
Yes, its a very personal preference. Since I like to try various configurations, I don't want to screw up games that I already configured for the best experience possibly within my rig and it also ease the process of testing games too...

If I don't like the results of a configuration I just delete the test folder of the game I just created for that purpose and when I am happy with the results I rename the folder to the game's name and move it to another folder called "Final_dont_touch_ever_again " that I rarely ran configs tests again...

Last edited by Marcelo_20xx; 22nd September 2015 at 07:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 23rd November 2015, 01:18 PM
Wally123's Avatar
Wally123 Wally123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Freedonia
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naimadekar View Post
I have BSOD when run any game with this PJ64 v2.2.0.3, try other plugins but have same BSOD screen, Only can fix this when use compatibility mode Windows 7, but my OS is "windows 7x64sp1 ultimate."

I have same BSOD problems in two different PCs, same os and cpu, but other gfx cards. one have 760g Amd, and other Amd 4850HD

PJ64 1.7.0.49v work fine!

I leave my main PC dxdiag txt info in attachments, maybe can fix this in next versions. regards
System DLL files may be corrupted. Try this...

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/929833
__________________
"I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book."

~Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 16th January 2016, 04:59 PM
GamingFan4Ever GamingFan4Ever is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for this emulator. Started using it today and it's great.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 21st January 2016, 11:17 PM
welshstan welshstan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Thumbs up welsh stan

Hi Sir.can you tell me how this site works please? I have just installed Project 64 and want to tell who made it,that it's brill. Better than retropie.Full screen,good sound and fast.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 26th January 2017, 02:32 AM
kick007's Avatar
kick007 kick007 is offline
Project Supporter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 17
Default

Nintendo wii can it be add to homebrew
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 28th January 2017, 04:22 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally123 View Post
System DLL files may be corrupted.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kick007 View Post
Nintendo wii can it be add to homebrew
Are you sure you're 29?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.