#11  
Old 4th July 2009, 12:21 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by archlvt View Post
Be that as it may, on the n64 or gamecube, link moves in many many directions and I can easily move him around, and if I'm not going perfectly straight down a narrow passageway, I can slightly turn him so that he goes straight. On the emulator on the other hand, I have to basically zig-zag down the path because he will only move in 8 directions.
It's easier to hit C-up to change Link's line of vision and try to make it parallel with the plank.

not that this helps you either but just in case you're forced on the situation again...as for adjusting the range temporarily like when you're using the bow that's pretty much what I have to do as well since all I ever use is a keyboard ...I played through the full game and got all 52 heart pieces and whatnot and don't remember any real need to adjust the range except like in Woodfall

The only time I was absolutely required to change the analog sensitivity was in Mario64 when I had to align the cannon perfectly to make this video.
um also for Banjo-Tooie when I had to tip-toe so the snake wouldn't wake up

sorry to spam

Last edited by HatCat; 4th July 2009 at 12:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4th July 2009, 05:29 AM
archlvt archlvt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I adjusted the range in a few places, like the shooting galleries. It's almost enough to make me want to buy the VC version, which I almost did. It's just, the n64 emulator is so crystal clear and smooth and has anti aliasing that the VC version will look like garbage in comparison, especially on a 46" HD LCD tv. Link's master quest looks all stretched out, and majora's mask on the actual n64 is even worse, link just looks like a bunch of little green boxes lol.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th July 2009, 08:43 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by archlvt View Post
I can't STAND the square shape of the analog cutout

Go to windows controller calibration and as you're calibrating the controller you will see a square box with a plus sign in it. Notice you can aim all the way to the edge. This is the only controller that can do this. Because the analog gear box is shaped like a cube.

So the purpose of the square cutouts is so you can aim all the way to the edge, which is very useful especially in games like GoldenEye.


Since this controller isn't working for you, I say the best option, is to get an actual N64 controller with adapter.

Last edited by magmarock64; 23rd July 2009 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th July 2009, 08:50 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by archlvt View Post
I adjusted the range in a few places, like the shooting galleries. It's almost enough to make me want to buy the VC version, which I almost did. It's just, the n64 emulator is so crystal clear and smooth and has anti aliasing that the VC version will look like garbage in comparison, especially on a 46" HD LCD tv. Link's master quest looks all stretched out, and majora's mask on the actual n64 is even worse, link just looks like a bunch of little green boxes lol.
If you think Majora's Mask looks nice you should see it on hires textures.
It will put the VC version to shame!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4th July 2009, 05:34 PM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by archlvt View Post
Just let the smart people figure this out

You know, you'd be a great asset to an ISP as an inbound call representative. You can pretend that you didn't hear anyone's internet related problems and tell them "It's your router".
Listen fucktard, I have multiple gamepads, each having perfect control over any game i play. there is no 8 point directions because as i fucking said, its a combination by a range of 2 axis X and Y, and does not have definite directional pointers.

If the game appears to be acting in this way, then either the control is fucked, the adapter is fucked or you just don't know how to configure your fucking control.

also.

RTFM.
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10th July 2009, 06:27 AM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squall_Leonhart View Post
Listen fucktard, I have multiple gamepads, each having perfect control over any game i play. there is no 8 point directions because as i fucking said, its a combination by a range of 2 axis X and Y, and does not have definite directional pointers.

If the game appears to be acting in this way, then either the control is fucked, the adapter is fucked or you just don't know how to configure your fucking control.

also.

RTFM.
This is entirely true, although I wonder if he was attempting to use a controller incompatible? (Sorry I dont have ime to read the above posts)

archlvt, May I suggest testing another controller just so that you may admit to yourself that your controller is a fail.
__________________
Also, on top of what I said above, you listen here okay?! Look closely at this fist, if you so much as smell it wrong it'll impose itself onto your face okay?! You think you tough? I bet behind that PC you're just a timid old clown capable of nothing but wackin the sackin. You smell me tigga?!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23rd July 2009, 03:27 AM
ScarfaceGuru ScarfaceGuru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default

i can't move up down left right on my controller and i have the logitech dual action
HELP!#@&*#$^@*&($^*
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23rd July 2009, 10:11 AM
magmarock64 magmarock64 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 193
Default

Your going to have give me more detail does it work with other games?
is it just the D pad/Analog stick?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24th July 2009, 07:58 PM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScarfaceGuru View Post
i can't move up down left right on my controller and i have the logitech dual action
HELP!#@&*#$^@*&($^*
I have this exact controller and it works fine under the Windows XP OS. I assume you know that it has to be configured under System (via the emulator) right?
__________________
Also, on top of what I said above, you listen here okay?! Look closely at this fist, if you so much as smell it wrong it'll impose itself onto your face okay?! You think you tough? I bet behind that PC you're just a timid old clown capable of nothing but wackin the sackin. You smell me tigga?!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
controller, directions, majora's mask, moron, noob, sensitivity, zelda

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.