Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 6th April 2009, 12:48 PM
omegadox omegadox is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: I dunno
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fangzero View Post
Pokemon Stadium 2 also Feezes when going to the GB tower. On both Jabo's and Mudlord's

Vigilante 8 runs at 9fps during game play. When using Jabo's, "Copy Framebuffer to RDRAM" just makes it slower overall but more stuff appears.
"Copy Framebuffer to RDRAM" is a slow option because its copying the whole FB into RAM every frame. It sounds to me, it is optimized, Dolphin has the same kind of option. "Copy EFB to RAM", it barley slows down the game, I wonder if Jabo's plugin doesn't use any fragement shaders to do it, it uses all of CPU power for the copy process ?
__________________
Emulation is my hobby.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th April 2009, 05:31 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

It probably is a known issue, but there may be other memory settings not disregarded by the interpreter that might reveal more.
I can test the settings in the changed beta and other emulators. Can you upload a save state of the area before the crash or hang would happen?

The F5 key creates a zipped save image named after the game in "Project64\Save". Upload this file preferrably either as an attachment to a post in this forum or by using filesend.net.

I want to do some extensive testing on this case.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th April 2009, 08:12 PM
Fangzero's Avatar
Fangzero Fangzero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berwick, ME
Posts: 13
Default

Alright, I can try. Do you need the GB rom and Save too?

Here is What you asked for i Think.
Attached Files
File Type: zip POKEMON STADIUM 2.pj.zip (1.15 MB, 7 views)

Last edited by Fangzero; 6th April 2009 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 8th April 2009, 12:49 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

I don't think so.

Okay so I loaded this save state in Project64, and the very first time the screen came up black. (This is more natural because of the setting.) I can still exit with the B button, see the screen updated to the select screen, and re-enter the GB tower section. I haven't yet found a way to reproduce any hanging.

Do you still get sound?
Are you sure this happens with both plug-ins? There are ways to simulate hanging with conflicting RiceVideo configurations; it can be a real trick to collect an optimal configurations set for some games.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:15 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

frick, using a Geforce 2
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:19 AM
Fangzero's Avatar
Fangzero Fangzero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berwick, ME
Posts: 13
Default

I know for sure it hangs on Jabo's with the settings I listed earlier. I'll have to test mudlords with the same setting differences.
__________________
"It is easy to dodge a spear, but it takes great skill to dodge an arrow, let alone five."

http://www.angelfire.com/sk/sonicknu...s/awesonic.gif
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:31 AM
Fangzero's Avatar
Fangzero Fangzero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berwick, ME
Posts: 13
Default

Ok I actually got a little farther in mudlord's, I got a screen with an X on the first controller, when the cpu is an interpreter and self modifying code is cached.
__________________
"It is easy to dodge a spear, but it takes great skill to dodge an arrow, let alone five."

http://www.angelfire.com/sk/sonicknu...s/awesonic.gif
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:37 AM
Fangzero's Avatar
Fangzero Fangzero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berwick, ME
Posts: 13
Default

Ok any caching on the self modifying code modes with the interpreter CPU setting show the following on my screen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mudlord Cache.JPG (71.1 KB, 10 views)
__________________
"It is easy to dodge a spear, but it takes great skill to dodge an arrow, let alone five."

http://www.angelfire.com/sk/sonicknu...s/awesonic.gif
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:37 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

use Jabo's D3D6 1.5.2, it'll work fine for pokemon stadium.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:41 AM
Fangzero's Avatar
Fangzero Fangzero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berwick, ME
Posts: 13
Default

Hahaha, Used what squall said and now I get an error about the transfer pak. any clues for that one?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg transfer pak error.JPG (73.1 KB, 10 views)
__________________
"It is easy to dodge a spear, but it takes great skill to dodge an arrow, let alone five."

http://www.angelfire.com/sk/sonicknu...s/awesonic.gif
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.