Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1101  
Old 4th November 2014, 05:37 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

SSE3 is "Streaming SIMD Extensions 3", and the extra 'S' in SSSE3 means "supplemental".

Anyway by the next release of this plugin, neither should be of use anymore. The primary reason for SSSE3 was shuffling, secondary being better auto-packing and unpacking from ANSI code in the multiplies, which were quite optimized for what appears to be vectorizing compilers developed beyond what GNU gave us. Since I'm half-assing (ass as in inline-ass[embly]) by using the intrinsics from <emmintrin.h>, both of those problems can be eliminated anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #1102  
Old 13th November 2014, 04:27 PM
oddMLan's Avatar
oddMLan oddMLan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Parappa Town
Posts: 210
Default

In other news, Microsoft made Visual Studio free (for non-enterprises):

http://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft...e-for-download
Reply With Quote
  #1103  
Old 14th November 2014, 06:04 AM
Olivieryuyu Olivieryuyu is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Default

I have a bug with this RSP plugin in Harvest Moon
Attached Images
File Type: jpg oo.jpg (56.2 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #1104  
Old 14th November 2014, 06:09 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olivieryuyu View Post
I have a bug with this RSP plugin in Harvest Moon
According to his commits, he fixed a bug in harvest moon (not sure if it's the same one you presented).

You can compile his latest source if you wish to see if it's currently fixed. The latest binary release has bugs in a few games, so it's best to compile anyway. Latest source is also more optimized.
Reply With Quote
  #1105  
Old 28th November 2014, 06:17 PM
Olivieryuyu Olivieryuyu is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Hmm small question

I have constantly this when using the plugin with PJ64 plugins?

Any advise? Config is never ever save, so I can use in LLE without any options
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sans titre.jpg (25.1 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #1106  
Old 28th November 2014, 11:57 PM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olivieryuyu View Post
Hmm small question

I have constantly this when using the plugin with PJ64 plugins?

Any advise? Config is never ever save, so I can use in LLE without any options
I recommend you put sp_cfgui.exe in the same directory as your emulator exe. Once you do that, when you click config in the emulator gui, for RSP settings, the gui should appear and will create a config file if it did not already exist.

It's quite unfortunate, because the public binary one has glitches in a few games. But the latest source uses a different type of configuration and there's no public gui for the latest version. His latest source is also incomplete, so there's no way to config it. It's easy to fix the source, but I still haven't been able to compile with GCC due to some weird issues. I'd rather not use MSVC at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #1107  
Old 2nd December 2014, 08:03 AM
fallaha56 fallaha56 is offline
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34
Default Some very exciting N64 emulation news

Hey guys some of you may have seen this already:
gliden64.blogspot.ru/2014/11/lle-is-here.html

LLE on Glide64 is imminent -HatCat is this using your RSP I wonder? if not why not?!
Reply With Quote
  #1108  
Old 2nd December 2014, 08:45 AM
RPGMaster's Avatar
RPGMaster RPGMaster is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallaha56 View Post
Hey guys some of you may have seen this already:
http://gliden64.blogspot.be/2014/11/lle-is-here.html

LLE on Glide64 is imminent -HatCat is this using your RSP I wonder? if not why not?!
For LLE, there are multiple RSPs and each RSP may have its pros and cons. You don't necessarily have to stick to using only 1 RSP.
Reply With Quote
  #1109  
Old 6th December 2014, 04:33 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oddMLan View Post
In other news, Microsoft made Visual Studio free (for non-enterprises):

http://www.neowin.net/news/microsoft...e-for-download
Awesome, thanks for sharing. I believe it broke down when my laptop connected to the internet and changed to saying I had X days left in my free trial, but I hope this is just a bug and what you posted really is free. Guess I'll find out/try again when my trial runs out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olivieryuyu View Post
I have a bug with this RSP plugin in Harvest Moon
Yes angrylion reported this to me a while back.
I'd sent him an e-mail linking to this patch to my source code, + an updated binary from that month which should fix your issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olivieryuyu View Post
Hmm small question

I have constantly this when using the plugin with PJ64 plugins?

Any advise? Config is never ever save, so I can use in LLE without any options
Yeah sorry about the whole config directory relativity/absolution ambiguity. That along with the separation into SSSE3 build will be merged into a newer system when I want to post a new release.
Reply With Quote
  #1110  
Old 14th January 2015, 04:03 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGMaster View Post
Edit: went back and fixed the rsp config. I just added in
Code:
(mode[0] == 'r') ? OPEN_EXISTING : CREATE_ALWAYS,
(mode[0] == 'r') ? FILE_ATTRIBUTE_NORMAL : FILE_FLAG_WRITE_THROUGH,
That's not something I'm sure whether I can commit.

The modes for fopen are things like "rb", "wb", "a", "r", "w", and many others. Generally to my understanding of the concept, the first letter must be either a 'r' or a 'w','a'.

You're saying if the first letter of the mode[] is 'R'EAD, then the Microsoft CreateFile() mode should be OPEN_EXISTING, and also use FILE_ATTRIBUTE_NORMAL. Otherwise if it's 'W'RITE (or 'a'ppend) then open via CREATE_ALWAYS, and later use FILE_FLAG_WRITE_THROUGH. These don't have a very analogous appearance with each other...

I think the current method is more readable.
Code:
...
(mode[0] == 'r') ? GENERIC_READ : GENERIC_WRITE,
(mode[0] == 'r') ? FILE_SHARE_READ : FILE_SHARE_WRITE,
...
If mode is read then GENERIC_READ. If mode is 'w'rite then GENERIC_WRITE. I can't understand your code, so if it's fixing something that's broken you could at least provide an explanation on why you picked a completely different macro from GENERIC_WRITE.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.