Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81  
Old 18th April 2013, 10:59 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Been trying to get z64gl w/ GLEW32 dev building on GNU GCC and having issues with all the libraries. Took a break from that and overlooked some legacy statements in the current plugin.. seems there is a more direct approach to decode sign-extended immediate offsets for the transactions between data memory and the vector register file.

The old method (not current, but used in most applications) was the if-else scan:
Code:
offset = inst & 0x0000FFFF;
if (offset & 0x0040)
    offset |= ~0x007F;
Since neg(x) is not(x) + 1,
-0x0040 = ~0x0040 + 1 = 0xFFBF + 1 = 0xFFC0,

it would be much faster to say:
Code:
offset  = inst & 0x0000FFFF;
offset |= -(inst &= 0x0040);
...instead of applying the `setne` opcode as such:
Code:
offset  = inst & 0x0000FFFF;
offset |= -1 * !!(inst &= 0x0040); /* ((inst &= 0x0040) != 0x0000 */
One somewhat blatantly missed speed-oriented change I will have put into the next release, if I ever see enough information in this thread to put one up.

Last edited by HatCat; 18th April 2013 at 11:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 19th April 2013, 04:48 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,918
Default

do it, bro.
__________________

CPU:Intel Xeon x5690 @ 4.2Ghz, Mainboard:Asus Rampage III Extreme, Memory:48GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, NVidia Geforce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
Monitor:ROG PG279Q, BenQ BL2211, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
SDD:Crucial MX300 275, Crucial MX300 525, Crucial MX300 1000
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Phantom 820, PSU:Seasonic X-850, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 19th April 2013, 05:14 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Eh.


At least 1 LLE bug report,

or,

Find the geometric formula defining the area of a Jewish star.


Bah, it would be nice if emulation used some of my math skills for a change.
The applied math is kind of limited to arithmetic / bit-wise.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 19th April 2013, 05:50 PM
mesk14's Avatar
mesk14 mesk14 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Default

There are no more lines in Ocarina of Time using z64gl

The following games have been tested using both Jabo D3D8 and z64gl

All Star Baseball 99-this game works fine until the players take the field.Then it crashes with this error.Same for both plugins



All Star Baseball 2000-this game works fine until players take the field,then the speed drops to an unplayable rate.Both plugins are the same,although z64gl is just a sliver faster,but still unplayable.

All Star Baseball 2001-This game is playable with both plugins! yay!

Ill be testing more games today,ill test as many as I can to help out.Any specific games you would like tested?

Quick question-does z64gl only run in 640x480 in fullscreen? Ive edited the config file but when going FS,it goes not higher then 640x480


*UPDATE*

Bomberman 64-this game loads,but when you gain control the fps drops to unplayable rate.Using a HLE audio plugin helps,but then the audio is scratchy.Also using JD3D8 causes lines to appear in the graphics (same as in Ocarina of Time) using z64gl fixes this (same AS Ocarina of Time)

Bomberman 64 the second attack!!-this game is playable! Although same as its predecessor,using JD3D8 causes lines in graphics,using z64gl fixes this.

Bomberman Hero-Unplayable w\both plugins.JD3D8 scrambles graphics,z64gl the graphics are fine but its too slow to be playable.Using HLE audio plugin w\z64gl speeds it up some,but then the audio starts to crackle

Cyber Tiger-Graphics are scrambled with JD3D8,playable w\z64gl

Last edited by mesk14; 19th April 2013 at 06:49 PM. Reason: added more games
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 19th April 2013, 07:26 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesk14 View Post
All Star Baseball 99-this game works fine until the players take the field.Then it crashes with this error.Same for both plugins

YEAH! This is the kind of thing I needed to see.

LLV weird addr means the game is attempting to register a transaction between SP DMEM to the vector register file which is not aligned on the 32-bit allocation barrier.

I'll try to see where in the game that happens so I can debug it exactly; it will be easy to fix now that I know it happens trust me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesk14 View Post
All Star Baseball 2000-this game works fine until players take the field,then the speed drops to an unplayable rate.Both plugins are the same,although z64gl is just a sliver faster,but still unplayable.
Weird, Bighead's list says it's playable on Apollo with Azimer's audio and Glide64 HLE...wonder if there is a LLE issue or if it is a core issue; I'll see about testing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesk14 View Post
Ill be testing more games today,ill test as many as I can to help out.Any specific games you would like tested?
Seems you're doing a fair job already.
Basically games that do things different from most games, oddities or unusual code run on the RSP.
But, we'd be hard-pressed to automatically know which games fall under that.

So, leisure play through your favorite games as if you're having fun with a stable version and not like, just beta-testing or something is also cool. Am trying to also support an optimized gaming experience in LLE as well somewhat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesk14 View Post
Quick question-does z64gl only run in 640x480 in fullscreen? Ive edited the config file but when going FS,it goes not higher then 640x480
That's because Project64 2.0 isn't reading the z64gl.conf file under $emu\Plugin. You may need to use some other emulator like Mupen64 or Project64 1.6 to get the conf to load so that you can play with whatever resolution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesk14 View Post
*UPDATE*

Bomberman 64-this game loads,but when you gain control the fps drops to unplayable rate.Using a HLE audio plugin helps,but then the audio is scratchy.
I played Bomberman 64 on my RSP plugin...thought for sure it was playable; could you upload a saved state for me to download into the emu and test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesk14 View Post
Bomberman Hero-Unplayable w\both plugins.JD3D8 scrambles graphics,z64gl the graphics are fine but its too slow to be playable.Using HLE audio plugin w\z64gl speeds it up some,but then the audio starts to crackle
I don't know anything about this game, so a saved state would be of use here for me, too.
Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 19th April 2013, 08:03 PM
mesk14's Avatar
mesk14 mesk14 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Ok first here are the save states you requested

oops i have to have 5 posts before i can post url's i tried posting link to save under this post but it has to be approved by a mod.PM sent

DR Mario-this game runs fine with JD3D8,very few lines on title screen,but game plays flawlessly.Using z64gl a strange glitch\bug appears when Mario tosses up the pill,it vanishes then reappears in the bottle.

Dual Heroes-this game works well w\z64gl.When using JD3D8 a graphic glitch happens where part of the background remains in the margins.Its hard to describe,you have to see it.Also this happens w\ Bomberman 64 w\JD3D8,maybe coincidental but both games are Hudson.
__________________
Intel core i5 3470 @ 3.9
8gb ddr 3 ram
GTX 460 1gb

Last edited by mesk14; 19th April 2013 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 19th April 2013, 08:03 PM
mesk14's Avatar
mesk14 mesk14 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Default

pj64_saves.zip - 2.4 Mb

requested save states
__________________
Intel core i5 3470 @ 3.9
8gb ddr 3 ram
GTX 460 1gb
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 19th April 2013, 08:06 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Dr. Mario is playable when I run it on, I think it was Mupen64, with z64gl. Well there was something up with the pills but it turned out to not be a problem on my RSP.

You don't have to list issues with every game, btw, only if they happen to be related to my RSP plugin. If changing the gfx plugin fixes the issue then I guess that's good to know for my/others' future references; it just doesn't help me concentrate on the RSP is all.

I found and fixed your issue with All-Star Baseball '99 btw!
The game should work great in the next release which I will upload when I figure out how to allocate anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 19th April 2013, 08:08 PM
mesk14's Avatar
mesk14 mesk14 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
You don't have to list issues with every game, btw, only if they happen to be related to my RSP plugin. If changing the gfx plugin fixes the issue then I guess that's good to know for my/others' future references; it just doesn't help me concentrate on the RSP is all.
Gotcha

Did you get the save states?
__________________
Intel core i5 3470 @ 3.9
8gb ddr 3 ram
GTX 460 1gb
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 19th April 2013, 11:03 PM
MarathonMan's Avatar
MarathonMan MarathonMan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 454
Default

Great to see this coming to fruition!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.