Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #261  
Old 10th July 2013, 12:59 PM
ChevalierBlanc ChevalierBlanc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
I didn't have a creative sound card, and I am not sure if OpenAL has better audio quality than XAudio2.


Yes it is, with it, you can use dolby pro logic II decoder. ( 5.1 surround )


Not with xaudio2
  #262  
Old 10th July 2013, 06:49 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
I can't hear the crackling in the intro with headphone for XAudio2 or DSound. But it is possible that the crackling is also caused by sound record device. My ears are not sensitive enough to hear that.
Hmm....weird. I'll look at it again. It's weird that under the same sound device on my end, XAudio2 crackles when DSound doesn't. Very odd indeed. My current sound card is a Realtek HD 5.1 (integrated). I definitely hear crackling when the ocean sound effects are playing.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
  #263  
Old 10th July 2013, 07:04 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
I found the minor artifact (static noise) might be caused by sound record device.

In your audio records (also in my audio records), there are silence/whirring not only in the beginning but actually always there, even no audio output at all.



But if I disable the audio record device, then the silence/whirring disappears, (the audio is record with stereo mixer).



DKR - 48 KHz with sound record device disabled
That's weird indeed. Any hints as to the actual crackling (when the N64 logo shows up during the intro)? I think the person who posted that was curious about that as well.
From now on, when you quote the entire post, I'm going to do the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevalierBlanc View Post
Yes it is, with it, you can use dolby pro logic II decoder. ( 5.1 surround )


Not with xaudio2
I would be happy to add support for OpenAL if there was a way I could test it on my own computer which has I believe no sound card.
  #264  
Old 10th July 2013, 11:07 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
From now on, when you quote the entire post, I'm going to do the same.
Too late, fixed my last comment.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
  #265  
Old 11th July 2013, 08:57 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nintendo1889 View Post
Hmm....weird. I'll look at it again. It's weird that under the same sound device on my end, XAudio2 crackles when DSound doesn't. Very odd indeed. My current sound card is a Realtek HD 5.1 (integrated). I definitely hear crackling when the ocean sound effects are playing.
From the audio records of previous post or from project64 on your computer?
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
  #266  
Old 11th July 2013, 02:22 PM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suanyuan View Post
From the audio records of previous post or from project64 on your computer?
From the samples that were posted a couple of pages ago
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i7 4470 3.4 GHz to 3.9 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 970 4 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM 10600
HDD: 2 x Western Digital 1 TB HDDs
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
  #267  
Old 12th July 2013, 12:25 PM
ChevalierBlanc ChevalierBlanc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
would be happy to add support for OpenAL if there was a way I could test it on my own computer which has I believe no sound card


Just to let you know that i think you guys are freaking asweome at sound engineering, programming


and i was asking myself why both of you alpha tester dont have a sound card lol
its rare to find people without a sound card in pc
  #268  
Old 12th July 2013, 02:27 PM
MasterCesarX MasterCesarX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Talking Test

Thanks for the new plugin ,i will test your plugin on many games and i will reporting the results
  #269  
Old 12th July 2013, 04:21 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevalierBlanc View Post
Just to let you know that i think you guys are freaking asweome at sound engineering, programming


and i was asking myself why both of you alpha tester dont have a sound card lol
its rare to find people without a sound card in pc
Honestly, I don't know how to tell if I genuinely don't have a sound card.

I don't even have speakers anymore. I just took some old-ass Sony headphones I bought from Wal-Mart for $30.

I know I got OpenAL sound to *work* in Winamp, just need to try making a plugin to see if I can debug it better using the API device caps features I guess.

Even if it'd happen to be some elitist lock-out API that only works for people who have sound cards, it beats every single audio plugin using nothing but Microsoft DirectSound or SDL all the time I Think.
  #270  
Old 12th July 2013, 05:46 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
Even if it'd happen to be some elitist lock-out API that only works for people who have sound cards, it beats every single audio plugin using nothing but Microsoft DirectSound or SDL all the time I Think.
OpenAL an elitist lock-out API? I don't think so. OpenAL just another open source cross platform 3D audio API.

If this plugin uses OpenAL the audio quality will be better? I am not sure. OpenAL is a 3D audio API, but in this plugin what I use is stereo audio streaming and has nothing to do with 3D. How to map streaming audio to 3D positioned sound buffer is another question.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.