Go Back   Project64 Forums > Public Version > Project 64 - v2.x - Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 16th September 2017, 12:17 AM
SoAmusing777 SoAmusing777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
You only need x86 versions for x86 programs.

I have Windows 8 64-bit, this is the DirectX9 I installed. But you may already have it. Doesn't hurt to re-install it anyway.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down...s.aspx?id=8109

I must already have the 2013 Visual Studio C++ runtime installed.

Edit re- last reply: Darn it .
I've tried 3 versions of Rice 6.1.1 beta 10, 6.1.4, and this one.
(:
Oh right, ok. I clicked on that link and yes, had all of that installed already, so... 6.1.4 works, but has a slowdown issue, especially in planet zebes, due to not having a texture caching option. That's why I was trying to use 6.1.8, and got that cn64system error, which I have no clue how to resolve. Rice 0.4.4 loads 2977 textures, but in game none of the level textures show up, so... what's next boss? Have you any luck with 6.1.4? Btw, 6.1.4 is directx8. 6.1.3 is directx9. In the directx tab on those my integrated GPU shows up a lot of the time for some reason rather than my nvidia. I think it's a directx bug coupled with having a laptop. Idk. Lemme know though.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16th September 2017, 12:34 AM
SoAmusing777 SoAmusing777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Angry boo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
Edit re- last reply: Darn it .
I've tried 3 versions of Rice 6.1.1 beta 10, 6.1.4, and this one.
(:
Just re-tried 6.1.3 dx9 and 6.1.4 which is dx8. 6.1.3 shows my integrated GPU in the directx tab in the graphics settings and 6.1.4 shows my Nvidia. Neither one of them load all the stage textures. So... I've run into this problem before trying to play vice city on this laptop. I could never force it to use my nvidia GPU for some reason. I even had a mod installed called Vice Cry which used newer directX stuff, but, yeah. Screwed with it forever. Maybe it's just something with my laptop? What happens on your end? Still doesn't fix the cn64system error though.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16th September 2017, 12:37 AM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

6.1.8 needs VS2008 C++ runtimes installed.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down...s.aspx?id=5582

I'm also getting error loading pack with 6.1.8.
Quote:
2017/09/16 01:38:44.430 16072,Error,Exception Handler,CMipsMemoryVM::FilterX86Exception,Invalid memory adderess: C109FFFF
2017/09/16 01:38:44.431 16072,Error,RSP,CN64System::RunRSP,exception generated
2017/09/16 01:38:44.431 16072,Error,User Interface,CNotificationImp::FatalError,CN64System: :RunRSP()
Unknown memory action

Emulation stop

Last edited by Frank74; 16th September 2017 at 12:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16th September 2017, 12:51 AM
SoAmusing777 SoAmusing777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
6.1.8 needs VS2008 C++ runtimes installed.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/down...s.aspx?id=5582

I'm also getting error loading pack with 6.1.8.
Yeah, I have both the x86 and x64 for that installed already, version 9.0.30729.17. Oh wow. Hmm, so if Rice 6.1.3/4 doesn't have caching plus isn't loading all the textures, 6.1.8 has errors and isn't loading them all, 0.4.4 isn't loading them all, then that leaves 1964 video. I can try the directx9 versions of 1964 video. They are based off Rice, so.. that's the only thing left I know to try. I've already tried every directx8 version.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16th September 2017, 01:04 AM
SoAmusing777 SoAmusing777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

LOL, the directx9 don't fare any better. In the directx tab of the graphics settings it shows my intel integrated and causes a cn64system crash. When I select OpenGL my nvidia is used but all the textures do not load, so, i give up. I've tried everything I know to try.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 16th September 2017, 01:34 AM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

GLideN64 shows most of the level textures here, but bugged.
The hyrule castle wall textures aren't displayed with Rice, but title screen is perfect.
Only Glide64 Final shows hyrule castle textures properly, but title screen logo has problems with Glide64 Final and GLideN64.

This pack has problems.

Last edited by Frank74; 16th September 2017 at 03:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16th September 2017, 03:24 AM
SoAmusing777 SoAmusing777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
GLideN64 shows most of the level textures here, but bugged.
The hyrule castle wall textures aren't displayed with Rice, but title screen is perfect.
Only Glide64 Final shows hyrule castle textures properly, but title screen logo has problems with Glide64 Final and GLideN64.

This pack has problems.
Yeah, it only shows part of the bubble shield, and several other huge graphical problems like warping all kinds of textures, at least for me on GLideN64. Yeah, Rice does great with the title screen, but not so much with most of the rest. Glide Final is the only one I can get the most out of this pack with. I guess it does, but on the forums where the pack was created says that Glide is to blame. A few people were able to get it to work well on Rice 6.1.4, but I can't. Plus it doesn't cache, so it has issues with multiple of the same character or Planet zebes stage. I actually tried going into the mod files to fix some stuff, but nothing I did worked at all. I used the files from here - https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Threa...0-1-2017-09-06 - and tried renaming the files to what was in the n64 pack. Let me explain further, so if you find the pokemon hitmonlee, which is glitched on the n64 pack, on the wii pack, and rename the file to be the same as the 64 one and overwrite it, it won't even load it. I've tried every combination. I feel the problem is that a lot of the files have 4 bit depth lacking an alpha channel because it's in BMP format not PNG. Why this is I have no clue. The pokemon beedrill for instance uses PNG, and it works great. Then you have charmander, which comes out on the saffron city stage, that is 4 bit depth BMP image. I opened the file in GIMP and it says indexed 1 layer. Then you open beedrill's and it says RGB alpha 1 layer. Two complete different files and formats, yet one works while the other doesn't. I don't know why it wasn't all done in PNG to begin with, but seriously have tried everything to get all the textures to load or edit the textures to work with GLide to no avail.

EDIT: Yet I can take the files from the wii version of the pack, rename them to what is on the n64 version, and it'll load with some things. For example I overwrite the path texture file on the dreamland level (it looks like a sand path with green surrounding it) with the one from the wii version, and it totally works. Yet I do the same thing with the mario/pikachu textures and it won't load them. I think it is due to keeping things consistent, as they have to be the same file type, bit depth, and everything, yet when I convert the PNG charmander from the wii pack to a 4bit depth BMP, it doesn't work, at least when trying to use gimp.

Last edited by SoAmusing777; 16th September 2017 at 03:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16th September 2017, 04:02 AM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

Maybe the only chance is to make an issue at https://github.com/gonetz/GLideN64, to fix the texture warps in levels and black lines on title. It runs fast with frame buffer emulation turned off.

Though other times there have been problems with texture packs, it was found that the pack wasn't made correctly.

I'm giving up for now. Going to sleep, it's 5:00 am............
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16th September 2017, 05:18 AM
SoAmusing777 SoAmusing777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank74 View Post
Maybe the only chance is to make an issue at https://github.com/gonetz/GLideN64, to fix the texture warps in levels and black lines on title. It runs fast with frame buffer emulation turned off.

Though other times there have been problems with texture packs, it was found that the pack wasn't made correctly.

I'm giving up for now. Going to sleep, it's 5:00 am............
Yeah, how do I do that? Can't hurt. I could see it going either way honestly. I think the plugin has problems with semi-transparent textures I think it is.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16th September 2017, 03:05 PM
Frank74's Avatar
Frank74 Frank74 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 828
Default

The 'fixed' title has gap at bottom which is the cause of the black lines with Glide64.


It seems textures made for Rice are adjusted to work around Rice errors.
GLideN64 and Glide64 Final are displaying them correctly.

Edit:
Trying to re-join the title tiles, the bottom 8 pixels needs to be cut. There's 3 blank pixels, and each tile overlaps by a further 5 pixels.
So canvas size should be 1376 x 24 instead I think. Not sure, never messed with a texture pack before.

Last edited by Frank74; 16th September 2017 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aristotle rice, error cn64system, pietschie bad randolph, pj64 2.3, smash hd texture mod

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.