Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th December 2008, 11:40 PM
Mikonokia's Avatar
Mikonokia Mikonokia is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pombal in Portugal
Posts: 210
Default Requirements of Project 64

the title says all what are the requirements for the pj 64?I will buy a new RAM memory and it will increase from 112MB to 256MB is it good?
__________________
Code:
PC DeskTop
Operating Systems (dual boot):  
Windows XP home edtion (service pack 3)
Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 2.1 x86
CPU:
IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 2.60 GHz (32 bit)
Video Card:
Nvidea GeForce FX 5200
Sound Card:
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Memory:
1.50GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th December 2008, 11:52 PM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 343
Default

hmmm if you run Winxp and have nothing else open.. 256MB might be enough.. barely. 512MB would be safer if possible?

i'm not sure because to be honest i don't have any PCs with less than 1GB left..
__________________
L8rz,
Smiff (PJ64 team )
--
Main test PC: Athlon dual core 1.25-2.5Ghz (variable), 2GB RAM, GF8800GS driver 175.19, 1680x1050, External Audio, XP SP2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th December 2008, 11:58 PM
Mikonokia's Avatar
Mikonokia Mikonokia is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pombal in Portugal
Posts: 210
Default

I donīt think if it would be possible cause it cost a lot of money.....i will try it if it dont affect anything i will ask money from my father to pay another RAM
__________________
Code:
PC DeskTop
Operating Systems (dual boot):  
Windows XP home edtion (service pack 3)
Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 2.1 x86
CPU:
IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 2.60 GHz (32 bit)
Video Card:
Nvidea GeForce FX 5200
Sound Card:
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Memory:
1.50GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th December 2008, 12:15 AM
Smiff_ Smiff_ is offline
Core Team
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NZ/UK/PJ
Posts: 343
Default

you should also have a graphics card with pixel shader v2 support.. like a Geforce 5 or later, or Radeon 9600 or later

these parts are often available 2nd hand (used) quite cheaply.. maybe even free if you ask the right people
__________________
L8rz,
Smiff (PJ64 team )
--
Main test PC: Athlon dual core 1.25-2.5Ghz (variable), 2GB RAM, GF8800GS driver 175.19, 1680x1050, External Audio, XP SP2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th December 2008, 12:17 AM
Mikonokia's Avatar
Mikonokia Mikonokia is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pombal in Portugal
Posts: 210
Default

well i will see if it is good runnig pj64 if it is i will do nothing if it is not i will be looking for some of your ideas thanks
__________________
Code:
PC DeskTop
Operating Systems (dual boot):  
Windows XP home edtion (service pack 3)
Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 2.1 x86
CPU:
IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 2.60 GHz (32 bit)
Video Card:
Nvidea GeForce FX 5200
Sound Card:
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Memory:
1.50GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th December 2008, 02:51 AM
squall_leonhart's Avatar
squall_leonhart squall_leonhart is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,664
Default

Project64 can run on as little as 128MB, under Win9x, but it might get a little choked with less then 512 under XP, like smiff said,

Generally once you reach that 512 point, its the cpu and video card that restrict the emulation then.
__________________
Xfire Profile | VBA-M | XBCD 0.2.7

CPU:Intel i7 920 @ 3.8(D0), Mainboard:Asus Rampage II Gene, Memory:12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video:EVGA Geforce GTX 680+ 4GB, Sound:Creative XFI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, Monitor:BenQ G2400WD
HDD:500GB Spinpoint F3, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Red, 1TB WD Black
Case:NZXT Guardian 921RB, PSU:Corsair 620HX, OS:Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th December 2008, 04:08 AM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 736
Default

honestly I wouldn't bother wasting your money on that kind of upgrade to 256MB..... try and use your sisters computer and wait for an entirely new laptop.... I upgraded mine from 512MB to 2GB and my motherboard was replaced free of charge. But get a new pc, modern ones should have standardly good enough system requirements....
__________________
Also, on top of what I said above, you listen here okay?! Look closely at this fist, if you so much as smell it wrong it'll impose itself onto your face okay?! You think you tough? I bet behind that PC you're just a timid old clown capable of nothing but wackin the sackin. You smell me tigga?!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th December 2008, 10:58 AM
Mikonokia's Avatar
Mikonokia Mikonokia is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pombal in Portugal
Posts: 210
Default

yes but the laptops are very expensive and money is the thing i dont have enought to buy a new one.......I am waiting to my sister to receive her laptop but well my PC only can run 133MHZ of RAM that means only 128MB of RAM
__________________
Code:
PC DeskTop
Operating Systems (dual boot):  
Windows XP home edtion (service pack 3)
Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 2.1 x86
CPU:
IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 2.60 GHz (32 bit)
Video Card:
Nvidea GeForce FX 5200
Sound Card:
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Memory:
1.50GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th December 2008, 11:28 AM
Mdkcheatz's Avatar
Mdkcheatz Mdkcheatz is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Mr. Syrup
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: the Milky Way, I think...
Posts: 736
Default

get a desktop, they are a lot cheaper, and if you get one online it may be very very very cheap if you can get it with an operating system, and the install windows xp yourself, im sure you can find a copy of xp. then use the manufacturers web site to find the drivers needed to run the computer properly!

[EDIT] dont even bother with upgrading the RAM unless you upgrade to 1 or 2GB, just tough it out and save for something better.
__________________
Also, on top of what I said above, you listen here okay?! Look closely at this fist, if you so much as smell it wrong it'll impose itself onto your face okay?! You think you tough? I bet behind that PC you're just a timid old clown capable of nothing but wackin the sackin. You smell me tigga?!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th December 2008, 11:30 AM
Mikonokia's Avatar
Mikonokia Mikonokia is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pombal in Portugal
Posts: 210
Default

do you know any site?
__________________
Code:
PC DeskTop
Operating Systems (dual boot):  
Windows XP home edtion (service pack 3)
Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 2.1 x86
CPU:
IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 2.60 GHz (32 bit)
Video Card:
Nvidea GeForce FX 5200
Sound Card:
SoundMax Integrated Digital Audio
Memory:
1.50GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.