#1  
Old 26th May 2013, 07:32 PM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default SoftGraphic graphic plugin v1.5

----------------------------
SoftGraphic HLE plugin v1.5
----------------------------
SoftGraphic is a software rendering HLE graphics plugin that uses MESS rdp core
written originally by MooglyGuy of MESS as rendering engine. No special RSP is
needed. It is slow and you need a fast CPU to get a decent frame rate.

-------
Noteice
-------
This plugin uses uses MESS rdp core written originally by MooglyGuy of MESS and bug fixed by angrylion
to render graphics, the credit of graphics rendering should goto MooglyGuy and thanks for angrylion for his
bug fixes.

source of rdp_interface here

--------
History:
--------
v1.5
* rewrite D3D9 driver with shaders
* support PJ64 save to bitmap
* add 2xSai, Super2xSaI, SuperEagle and TV mode filter

v1.4
* add D3D9 driver support
* add UI to enable/disable D3D9 bilinear filter.

v1.3
* rewrite DirectDraw code to improve frame rate
* add full screen support
* add resolution 1024 x 768

v1.2
* use multi-thread rendering to improve frame rate

v1.1
* add UI to enable/disable filter to improve frame rate

v1.0
* first implementation

--------
Settings:
--------


Preview:







-----------------
my other plugins:
-----------------
ShunyuanDI: Shunyuan's DirectInput8 plugin
HleAudio: Auido plugin with XAudio2 + DirectSound driver support
GfxWrapper: to use Jabo's Direct3D8 v1.7.0.57-ver5 with Project64 1.6
Attached Files
File Type: zip SoftGraphic_v1.3.0.zip (137.6 KB, 243 views)
File Type: zip SoftGraphic_v1.4.0.zip (166.0 KB, 369 views)
File Type: zip SoftGraphic_v1.5.0.zip (179.9 KB, 2431 views)
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit

Last edited by shunyuan; 28th August 2013 at 06:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th May 2013, 07:55 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,148
Default

I wonder why it's still slow if both the RDP and the RSP commands are simulated.
Maybe it's that DirectDraw code.

It doesn't look too sexy when forced to 320x240/640x480/800x600.
The pixels were less blurred/stretched back when I was using SDL.
I was hoping a native port to Windows GDI would blit it less blurred. :S
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th May 2013, 08:56 PM
Zera Zera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 44
Default

It's unplayable even on my i7-3770k. Most games are bellow 30Vi/s, while some drop as low as 15Vi/s.

Well, at least it's working
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th May 2013, 09:06 PM
Lithium's Avatar
Lithium Lithium is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: hue hue br br
Posts: 68
Default

Great plugin, but very demanding.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th May 2013, 11:41 PM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 383
Default

For DirectDraw, blurriness can come from whether the surface is created in video memory, or system memory. Try to play with the flags on surface creation to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th May 2013, 11:54 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haxatax View Post
For DirectDraw, blurriness can come from whether the surface is created in video memory, or system memory. Try to play with the flags on surface creation to fix it.
ORLY.

That is very interesting to know!

I honestly was guessing that as an instinct, but I'm like, nahh...that doesn't make any sense. H/W blitting just makes it faster.
But I thought closely how software can be considered more "accurate" in some sense.

Hm. Good thing I want to make a plugin that doesn't 100% of the time need modern hardware requirements anyway then. :P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th May 2013, 12:05 AM
mudlord_ mudlord_ is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 383
Default

Oh yah, ZSNES used to have the same issue :P
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th May 2013, 12:28 AM
shunyuan's Avatar
shunyuan shunyuan is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatCat View Post
I wonder why it's still slow if both the RDP and the RSP commands are simulated.
Maybe it's that DirectDraw code.

It doesn't look too sexy when forced to 320x240/640x480/800x600.
The pixels were less blurred/stretched back when I was using SDL.
I was hoping a native port to Windows GDI would blit it less blurred. :S
It is possible, there are several rdp commands need to lock out screen surface to fill the frame buffer with primitive, such as showtile(), and it is very slow to lock and unlock DirectDraw surface.

I wonder it will be faster if I replace the DirectDraw surface with a DIB section.
__________________
---------------------
CPU: Intel U7300 1.3 GHz
GPU: Mobile Intel 4 Series (on board)
AUDIO: Realtek HD Audio (on board)
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 7 - 32 bit

Last edited by shunyuan; 27th May 2013 at 12:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th May 2013, 12:39 AM
the_randomizer's Avatar
the_randomizer the_randomizer is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zera View Post
It's unplayable even on my i7-3770k. Most games are bellow 30Vi/s, while some drop as low as 15Vi/s.

Well, at least it's working
The plugin is using software to render as opposed to hardware. It's the first release and over time, I'm sure speed will be improved, but for now, it relies wholly on the CPU as opposed to the GPU. The CPU is doing all the work.
__________________
My rig:
CPU: Intel Core i5 3570 3.4 GHz to 3.8 GHz
Video card:: MSI nVidia GTX 660 2 GB GDDR5
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
RAM: 8192MB DDR3 SDRAM PC2 10600
HDD: Western Digital 1 TB 7200 RPM
Monitor: 23" Asus Full HD LED

Oh, and Snes9x > Zsnes in every way
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th May 2013, 12:44 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,148
Default

I believe system memory is the default, so I changed the DirectDraw initializers to create the surface in video memory. It doesn't seem to have fixed certain aspects of the blurring.



I suppose by this point in time the matter could be a little more internal along angrylion's changes to the code.

I'm going to try reverting to the SDL rasterizer temporarily.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.