Go Back   Project64 Forums > General Discussion > Open Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th January 2016, 02:26 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default Scanline testing AL's RDP

I was doing some messing around with AL's code, and I managed to implement scanlines. I figured I would share for those who were interested.

I have tested on my Panasonic TV at a resolution of 1080P

I have included 3 downloads for a few different resolutions, and would like to implement a configure button in the future that would allow you to enable/disable scanlines, along with window size multiplier.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/aeghnlsty...vJWWLa-ka?dl=0

Please share your thoughts.

UPDATE:

There is the custom DLL now, and updated source:
You can now change the resolution and enable and disable various things.

BACKSPACE = Change Window Resolution
DEL = FSAA ON/OFF
HOME = Dither ON/OFF
END = Bilinear Filter HACK
PG DWN = Filters OFF except GAMA
PG UP = Scanlines ON/OFF


Thanks AIO for the mentoring. I learned a little today.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814

Last edited by theboy181; 19th January 2016 at 01:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th January 2016, 03:43 AM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

My thoughts are that you should consider using Git to show fork changes, because with DropBox I can't see them.

You can always fork it from AIO's repository and commit the changes highlighting your changes:
https://github.com/LegendOfDragoon/angrylions-stuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th January 2016, 03:59 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

too n00b still.. but Ill get there..

Code:
  serration_pulses = 1;
	int validinterlace = (vitype & 2) && serration_pulses;
	if (!validinterlace)
		internal_vi_v_current_line = 0;
	int lowerfield = validinterlace && !(internal_vi_v_current_line & 1);
	if (validinterlace)
		internal_vi_v_current_line ^= 0;
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814

Last edited by theboy181; 7th January 2016 at 05:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th January 2016, 05:58 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HatCat View Post
My thoughts are that you should consider using Git to show fork changes, because with DropBox I can't see them.

You can always fork it from AIO's repository and commit the changes highlighting your changes:
https://github.com/LegendOfDragoon/angrylions-stuff
Have you been able to test? I cant seem to fix the shaking effect during HighRes modes.

I changed your code for AL OLG 1.5

Code:
serration_pulses  = 0;
    lowerfield = serration_pulses & (ispal ? y1 < oldvstart : y1 > oldvstart);
    if (serration_pulses && y1 == oldvstart)
	{
	serration_pulses ;
		lowerfield = 0;
	}
This seemed to fix the garbled picture that was happening on the start screen for Rouge Squadron, but it still shakes..


The image is also not correct. Looks smoother on ALr98
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814

Last edited by theboy181; 7th January 2016 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th January 2016, 11:24 PM
HatCat's Avatar
HatCat HatCat is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In my hat.
Posts: 16,236
Default

Usually what involves the serrated pulses status bit is interlacing, like games at 480i not 240p.

So if scan-lines effect works it's probably because you found a way to omit the potential duplication of the same raster pixel rows. When I was going to get back to updating my fork of the plugin again I was going to look at using OpenGL to enforce working scan-lines.

Quote:
too n00b still.. but Ill get there..
I kind of just assumed you thought it'd be easy enough, since that's what you did when you PR'd commits over for that VI/s and DL/s pull request for Project64.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th January 2016, 09:57 PM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HatCat View Post
Usually what involves the serrated pulses status bit is interlacing, like games at 480i not 240p.

So if scan-lines effect works it's probably because you found a way to omit the potential duplication of the same raster pixel rows. When I was going to get back to updating my fork of the plugin again I was going to look at using OpenGL to enforce working scan-lines.



I kind of just assumed you thought it'd be easy enough, since that's what you did when you PR'd commits over for that VI/s and DL/s pull request for Project64.
its a definable a hack for sure! you can see that the hack only works for NTCS and not PAL. I am unsure if its the signal timing, the resolution, or something else that causes the issue.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th January 2016, 03:06 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Update: 1/17/2016

Please let me know if its not working.

Pro tip: use Zilmar's RSP for a little speed boost when using LLE plugins.
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th January 2016, 06:12 AM
amybugbee8 amybugbee8 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Default

I am very very impressed by this and I hope that you will soon provide some more info
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th January 2016, 01:31 AM
theboy181's Avatar
theboy181 theboy181 is offline
Alpha Tester
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Prince Rupert,British Columbia Canada
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amybugbee8 View Post
I am very very impressed by this and I hope that you will soon provide some more info
What info are you looking for?
__________________
Book recommendation!
https://www.amazon.com/All-Cats-Have.../dp/1843104814
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th January 2016, 05:39 PM
V1del V1del is offline
Project Supporter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 442
Default

It's a spambot probably looks for the info on when he's allowed to post links to his scamwebsite
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.